• Northeast Ohio's Ultimate Wedding Planning Guide for Over 20 Years!

  • Welcome to Today’s Bride

  • Categories

  • Blog Archive

  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Tweets from Today’s Bride

VoiceMail Messages

In sales, it’s rare to actually talk to a business owner or key decision maker on my first, second and sometimes third telephone call attempt. Thus I’m relegated to voice mail purgatory. Ironically, it appears that my clients are on the telephone calling THEIR customers at the very same times I’m trying to call them – at least that is what I tell myself!

With over 25 years experience, I’ve never discovered the secret of leaving the “must-call-him-back-immediately-before-the-offer-ends” voice mail message that every sales executive seeks. Trying to encapsulate a ten-minute presentation into a :15 or :30 second sound bite is virtually impossible. The only faithful telephone message I’ve been able to master is reciting, as succinctly as possible, the time, day, date and my telephone number – twice – in those precious few seconds.

Repeating my telephone number twice allows my prospect (unless they have a photographic memory) the time to find a spare piece of paper and workable pen to copy my ten digits down the second time through without having to replay my telephone message over and over again.

Some telephone messages left on my voice mail, especially by the younger text messaging generation is a blur of numerals, running together as if to form a new word… “Please call me at ‘eigheentfoursixtyonetwonine’ right away”. Click. Huh? “Somebody show ME how to replay my telephone messages!”

Leave a Reply

